From my heart to yours…

 It absolutely grieves me to see how so many people live their lives: running from this place to that; eating in the car; skipping meals; irritable; depressed; stressed out; lacking quality relationships; feeling lonely; addicted to sugar, caffeine, alcohol, cigarettes, or illicit drugs; trying to cover up that gnawing feeling of emptiness; and ultimately feeling little purpose in life.  At some point, you really do have to just STOP and ask yourself “Why?”  Why am I living this way?  Why am I doing this to myself?  Why am I even walking on this earth?  Is there really any meaning or purpose in life? 

 I love to read books by Stephen Covey like The 7 Habits of Highly Successful People or First Things First (which I’m reading now).   I made a very intentional decision about 7 years ago to work no more than 20 hours a week; all other time would be devoted to taking care of myself; maintaining my home; nurturing my relationships with my husband, family, and friends; and serving in my church and community.  I can’t tell you how my life has changed since then.  In fact, it was in 2001 that I lost nearly 20 pounds and 2 sizes in clothes, since I had the opportunity to actually FOCUS on my health, fitness, and overall wellness.  I have started my own business.  I have a much more clear direction as to the purpose of my life, which incidentally is to encourage others to do the very same thing I did (focus on health and wellness).  I have a very fulfilling relationship with God, my husband, and my friends.  I live with an overwhelming sense of peace and joy every day.  I wake up each day excited about the opportunities I have.  Every morning I say “this is the day the Lord has made – I WILL rejoice and be glad in it” – and then I do.  It’s such a different lifestyle than what I see all around me.

It’s time to challenge the status quo, and “swim upstream” in a culture that seems to be going to hell in a hand basket.  I promise you there is so much else to life besides chasing money.  When you reach the end of your life, what do you want people to say about you?  What kind of legacy do you want to leave behind?  It’s so easy to miss the forest because of all the trees blocking your view.  I encourage you to take a break every so often and reflect on these things.  Instead of working that dead-end job – take courage to follow your dreams.  Do you even have dreams anymore? 

I know this sounds different than regular fitness/nutrition blogs, but I am determined that I want to address the needs of the WHOLE person – not just the physical ones.  Life is so much more than food and what we look like.  However, without good health and fitness it’s really hard to enjoy and really LIVE life to the fullest.  That’s why I’m here… I hope I can help you stay inspired to truly become A BRAND NEW YOU

Leave a Reply

