What are we feeding our kids?

Okay… today, I have a bone to pick.  What’s up with the way kids are eating?  I was talking to my friend the other day, and she told me how a prominent private school in our area is now serving FAST FOOD every day!!!  They used to have the food catered every day, but since the kids weren’t eating it, they are now getting Taco Bell, KFC, and McDonald’s!!!  Now, I don’t have kids, but if I did – I think this alone would cause me to pull my child out of that school ASAP!  I also know that this same problem exists in the church – if not more so.  How many kids are given doughnuts and cookies every Sunday in Sunday school? 

It’s hard enough as an adult to make healthy food choices each day, let alone instill proper nutrition in the next generation.  However, if the very efforts of the parents to teach healthy food choices are not supported, and are even thwarted, by the school system, the community, and church – what is going to become of the health of the next generation?  It honestly grieves me.  Disease is hitting people at younger and younger ages.  Years ago, cancer and heart disease were things that only old people would get.  Not any more.  I’ve been to a few funerals already of people who died of cancer in their 30’s.  It’s been researched, proven, and documented many times over how fast food and junk food raise cholesterol, blood pressure, blood sugar, etc. (did you ever see the documentary “Supersize Me?” ). Obviously overeating these foods easily leads to obesity; and obesity is the main precursor to A LOT of diseases.   Obviously, obesity has become quite an epidemic here in the United States, and childhood obesity is just plain sad. 

However, proper nutrition begins at home.  It starts with the parents.  We adults have to learn how to eat healthy (and actually enjoy it) in order to model this for the children.  I’m not saying parents should control what the child eats, because that’s a whole other issue for another blog.  I’m just saying that the parents need to be role models, and teach children how to eat to be healthy.  Then the school system, churches, and community should follow suit to support what the parents are teaching the children at home.  Maybe one day…

Leave a Reply

