Yummy afternoon snack idea

I am working on ways to try to “sneak in” those raw fruits and veggies through creative snacks.  My top priority is that it MUST taste good, or else I won’t eat it.  I think I found something that is actually quite tasty and filling. 

 I chopped up raw veggies (I used carrots, zucchini, and squash) into very small pieces and put them in a tupperware bowl in my refrigerator.  Then I measured out a half cup of the veggies with a half cup of 1% fat cottage cheese & put a little bit of garlic powder in it to give it some flavor.  I stirred it all up and then used it as a spread for a fat-free, no sodium 35 calorie rice cake. 

It’s GOOD and pretty filling, too.  So, I think I might have found a winner.  I will probably try to use this as a mid-afternoon snack just because it’s usually a good idea to start laying off the carbs & trying to get in the protein and veggies later in the day.  The reason for that is because I’m not typically as active late in the day compared to the mornings when I do a lot of my training and working myself out.  A good rule of thumb is to think about what you will be doing for the upcoming 3 hours when choosing what kind of meal/snack to eat.  You need more carbs when you will be requiring more energy; you need more protein when you will be more sedentary or sleeping.  So, later in the day and at night, I typically try to find ways to lower my simple and starchy carbs and eat more protein.  That’s why I think this will be a great mid-afternoon snack for me. 

I will make a confession, though.  I haven’t found a good snack to eat at night before bed.  I sometimes wake up STARVING, so I really do need to eat something before I go to bed (sorry Bob Greene… I disagree with you there…).  Unfortunately I haven’t found anything that suits me yet.  If anybody has any suggestions, send them my way!  I’ve heard people drinking protein shakes, but I can’t drink too many liquids at night.  I’ve read to try to eat egg whites to curb the hunger pangs, but I haven’t been able to stomach this to make it a regular habit.  I’m open for suggestions, and if I find anything – I’ll let everyone know! 

2 Responses to “Yummy afternoon snack idea”

  1. jolynna Says:

    Hi,
    Your recipes sound really good. However, you do not look as if you NEED to lose weight. Really.

    But, as I grow older, EVERY indulgance SHOWS fast. So I do appreciate your blog and will come back often for inspiration and help.

  2. fitnesspro Says:

    Thanks for the compliment! I’m not trying to lose weight, but I do have to watch everything carefully to maintain. I’m 35 years old (I’ll be 36 in October) AND I’m a personal trainer, so I need to look like one! Personally, I need to be able to “walk the talk” if I want to help others live this lifestyle. I don’t consider myself to be “on a diet”, because I think it’s too restrictive. I love to eat! I just keep a lot of these principles in mind when I’m making food choices.

    I’m glad that my blog has been helpful for you. Let me know if there’s anything else I can do for you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

