Exercise of the day

assistedlunge2_small.jpg

This is a picture of an assisted lunge.  This is for beginners.  Basically, you can hold onto something for balance (as shown) if you need to.  Lunge to the front so that your legs form 90 degree angles; your front knee should NEVER go over your toe, and your back knee should almost touch the floor.  To come up, kick off the front heel back into the standing position using your muscle and not momentum.  You should feel this in your butt and quads (front of your thigh).  You can vary this exercise by alternating legs or do walking lunges.  This is one of the all-time best exercises you can do for your legs!!!  When it gets easy to do without holding weights, advance yourself by holding dumbbells by your side.  I usually use 20 lb dumbbells when I do these in my leg workouts, but you can start with lighter and work your way up to heavier ones. 

3 Responses to “Exercise of the day”

  1. av77 Says:

    Hey Fitness pro ran in to your blog by accident. Pretty interesting. How long have you been doing this? I am a former Marine with no life right now. School at day and work nights. Leave about 7:30 ish get home midnight ish. I love to run and weight train but lately just don’t have time. I refuse to buy larger trousers but YES the waist line is getting tight.
    Any in home suggestions for the abs. Diet tips are good if you have em. By they way this blog is my school blog. I might create a personal one since I intend to delete this one after today. (last day of class) Please don’t waste your time reading my entries. It’s a school blog for ethics/philosophy. I just may make it av177 or av771. Either way I will be interested to hear what you have to say. After today it will be safe to respond. I will let you know my new blog log in.
    Looking forward to reading your tips for the day. You can call me AV, a girl I met on line called me chopper man which ever is comfi for you.

  2. fitnesspro Says:

    Hello AV!

    Thanks for your comment. I’ve been training for 4 1/2 years and have had my business for 3 1/2 years. Before that, I worked in the mental health profession for around 8 or 10 years. I have a Masters Degree in Social Work. You can learn more about me and what I do at my website: http://www.fitnessforwomeningeorgia.com.

    To answer your question, the best thing for your abs is “to push away from the table” as my husband likes to say. Seriously, men tend to store fat around their midsections, whereas women tend to store fat in their hips and butts. Of course, that’s a broad generalization and everyone has different body types, but it is very common for men to put on weight in their bellies. The best way to lose body fat, regardless of where your body stores it, is a fitness program that consists of resistance training at least 2 or 3 times a week; cardiovascular training at least 3 to 5 times a week for a minimum of 30 minutes within your target training zone; and a healthy diet consisting of meals and snacks spread out every 3 hours.

    There are a TON of abdominal exercises to choose from. Obviously, everyone immediately thinks of crunches, but you can also incorporate a lot of pilates moves as they train the deeper transverse abdominus (stabilizer) muscles that help protect and strengthen the spine. You can also get a good stability ball, because just about anything you do with the ball will cause you to use your abdominal muscles to help you stabilize yourself.

    However, as I said earlier, just because your waistline is bigger, don’t mistake that to mean you need to ONLY work on your abs. Your strength training program needs to be well-rounded to include exercises for all of your major muscle groups. Men typically find it easier to lose weight because they have the benefit of testosterone to help them grow big muscles. These muscles increase your resting metabolism causing you to lose weight a lot faster and easier than it would be for us women.

    I hope this helps you. I’m glad you enjoy my blog & that you find it informative. Thanks again for your comment.

  3. David Says:

    Thanks, this is one that for some reason or another, I was not aware of. Will give it a try and if it is as good as you say will recommend it myself.


Leave a Reply

