You don’t have to be perfect… just consistent

I like to think of life as a marathon, not a sprint.   In other words, when it comes to eating and exercising, it’s more important to be consistent in choosing mostly healthy foods and sticking to my exercise routine as much as possible.  However, there will always be things that come up to prevent me from doing what I want to do – i.e. banquets, dinner parties, vacations, etc.  For me, I think of the “80/20” rule, which is that I try to eat right and exercise 80% of the time and allow some “wiggle room” for those other things that are just part of life.  Incidentally, this is one of the reasons I’ve never tried to get into figure competitions, because I feel like part of being healthy is to enjoy life, food, friends, etc. without super strict rules.  It’s also why I don’t believe in following a “canned diet”.  Sometimes you can be so strict with your eating/exercising routine that you miss out on other things that make life full and enjoyable.  Life is a delicate balancing act – I believe the key is moderation in all things.  Occasionally, it might actually be a healthy thing to enjoy an ice-cream cone after dinner with your family… these are what make happy memories.  Just don’t do it every night, and don’t eat too much.  Life is a gift to be enjoyed, so don’t live every day stressing over trying to be perfect.  Seek to be as consistent as you can with your eating and exercise, but make sure you enjoy your life and your relationships with friends and family along the way. 

2 Responses to “You don’t have to be perfect… just consistent”

  1. lisa sabin Says:

    Hi,
    I see that you are a personal trainer. I am a trainer too. I have recently started my own site called Konamoxt. Konamoxt is a gathering of fitness minded people. We combine blogging, like wordpress with some really good features to track your training. There is a library with training plans and articles related to fitness as well as community forums. Our site is free.

    I invite you to come check Konamoxt. People who have moved over have found that they are getting a lot of hits. Since our site is about fitness which makes it is easy to be found by potential clients and to have your voice heard.

  2. practiceliving Says:

    Thanks for this post!

    I’m trying hard to shift my lifestyle to the 80/20 rule because I find it (coupled with intuitive eating) to be much healthier and much more realistic than dieting or trying to stick to a plan someone else has created. The 80/20 lets life HAPPEN, which is unavoidable!


Leave a Reply

