What to do when you don’t feel like exercising…

This is exactly how I felt today.  I woke up earlier than I had planned to, and ever since I’ve been feeling tired, sleep-deprived, and a bit unmotivated to do what I have to do today.  After my client left this morning, I had the choice:  do I work out or don’t I?  The bed was screaming my name.  However, I ignored the screaming and just did what I had to do!  I did my chest, back, biceps, and abs and then the spin bike for 45 minutes.  How did I feel afterward?  Still tired, but proud that I did what I had planned to do.  Now, this is the way I’m tackling the rest of my day… I’m setting my mind to accomplish what I intended and ignoring the inner voice inside that continues to beckon me to take it slow and easy today. 

I tell you this to let you know that I have the same internal battles and struggles as everybody else; I’m no different.  There are plenty of days that I just plain don’t feel like doing anything!  However, since I’m self-employed, I can’t afford to give in to my feelings!  So, to answer the above question, sometimes I think the best thing to do when it comes to exercise is to not ask yourself whether you feel like doing it or not.  Write it down in your schedule/appointment book, and then keep that appointment with yourself.  We all have a mind, emotions, and a will.  Our will is like the gatekeeper for our thoughts and emotions.  You choose by an act of your will what you will think about, what attitude you will have for that day, and what you will accomplish.  If we all lived solely by our emotions alone, what would this world be like?  We don’t need to ignore our emotions, because they are like an indicator light on our car… they let us know when there’s something wrong that needs to be fixed.  Emotions are very important, but we don’t need to live by them. 

Anyway, I thought this was an appropriate thought to write about today since I am struggling with my own motivation level at the moment and having to take my own advice.  I hope it helps someone else out there. 

www.fitnessforwomeningeorgia.com

One Response to “What to do when you don’t feel like exercising…”

  1. What to do when you don’t feel like exercising… | Fitness, Health & Diet news Says:

    […] post by fitnesspro Share and Enjoy: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and […]


Leave a Reply

