Is eating healthy a “buzz kill”?

I was talking to a lady last night who has been diagnosed with diabetes, and she just insists that it is just not as much fun to eat anymore.  She feels like she’s on a constant diet, and when she goes out to eat – she just can’t bring herself to order a salad when “everyone else” is eating the “good stuff”.  I suggested to her that she is only thinking in terms of black and white… where is the gray area???  I have been eating healthy for years, and I rarely, if ever, feel deprived or like I’m missing out on life.  I told her that eating healthy has caused me to be much more creative with foods, and I enjoy experimenting with new and different flavors and dishes.  We then started talking about eating out on vacation (she just got back from Florida last week).  It was just TOO MUCH for her to think about avoiding the fried seafood when she is on vacation in Florida!!  She said the food is the main reason she goes to Florida!!  That’s when it hit me… some people really are RULED by food.  When I go on vacation, I look forward to all of the new and exciting adventures I will experience; the beauty of nature; spending quality time with my husband… things like that.  I rarely come back talking about the food I ate!!!  I don’t even remember what I ate most of the time. 

 So, I conclude with these questions.  Do you let food rule your life?  Do you eat to live, or live to eat?  I promise you, there is so much more to experience in life than just food!! 

www.fitnessforwomeningeorgia.com

Leave a Reply

