True Confessions…

I’d like to share something personal today.  I discovered something about myself this week.  For the last 5 to 7 days, I’ve noticed that I’ve been tempted by and chosen foods that I would not recommend to others as part of a healthy diet.  For example, I made french toast loaded with butter and syrup the other day.  That same night, we went out to Ryan’s Steak House… need I say more?  Three days in a row, I ate dessert – which I usually only eat every once in a while.  Yesterday, I made myself some cinnamon toast.  Then later I enjoyed a cup of hot chocolate with a big fat marshmallow in it!  The other day, while I was grocery shopping,  I was actually tempted by a box of chocolate Lucky Charms!!!  I ended up going to the health food section & buying a cereal called “Peanut Butter Bumpers” – so that was my cheat cereal. 

So, I began asking myself what the heck is going on???  This is so not like me… anymore.  I used to do stuff like that years ago without batting an eye lash, but it’s not a part of my fitness lifestyle now.  I can’t let it sneak back into my lifestyle, either.  Fortunately for me, I have enough self-awareness that I figured out the culprit.  My husband and I have been in the middle of a home remodel for about 3 months now.  Things are in such a state of disarray and disorganization that I feel somewhat out of control.  My life has been disrupted to the point that a lot of my major routines have been thrown off (except working out and training others, of course).  It’s affected almost every area of my life, and now it’s infiltrating into my eating routines, too.  So, once I discovered that I’m beginning to allow my emotions to dictate my food choices, I realized that I need to deal with my emotions to prevent further issues.  So, I pitched a couple of major “hissy fits” a few days ago, had several good cries, vented to a few people, and now I feel somewhat better.  Yesterday, I made the decision to tackle some of the projects that are making me feel the most out of control.  I know that once I make some headway on those, then that will help tremendously, too. 

So, why do I tell you this?  Because I thought it was important to share a real-life example of how emotions can completely wreck your fitness goals if you allow them to.  I am not immune.  I experience the same pressures and stresses in life as everyone else (well, mostly), so I wanted to share how I try to deal with them before they get the best of me.  It’s definitely a challenge right now, and I have to take each day as it comes.  I refuse to just throw my hands up &  give up.  However, I know that I need to have a little room for some “comfort food” from time to time, too.  It’s all about balance and moderation, as well as learning to deal with stress and emotions.  It’s definitely not easy, but totally worth the effort. 

www.fitnessforwomeningeorgia.com

One Response to “True Confessions…”

  1. pipey2310 Says:

    I enjoyed reading your blog a great deal. I am 48 and in wonderful shape because I work at it. However, it is disheartening to me when I am tempted by food I know I shoudn’t eat (by the way…those Lucky Charms are yummy). When I give in to the temptation I feel guilty and foolish. I mean I work out and I invest a great deal of time and energy doing so and then I throw all that hard work down the drain for a Snickers bar. I, like you have come to the conclusion that a little comfort food goes a long way and that balance in ones life is critical to uber happiness.

    Thanks again for the posting !!


Leave a Reply

